Homosexuals Do Not Exist: Recapping The First Two Posts.


This was intended to be a five-part series, but the more I’ve tried to make it only five posts, the easier it has become for people to misunderstand my intentions or the content of the posts. So, consider this a review of parts one and two, arecourse to make it easier for everyone, and an introduction to part three.

Writing this series has been challenging- finding what to say is not the issue, but making the argument simple is. The difficult task I face in writing a series like this, is having a simple argument without sacrificing content. This is not meant to stir your intellect only, but to challenge you on what you believe.

So, over the next three days I want to make the direction of the series clearer and much more simple. I am a Christian, I believe the Bible is without error and without fallacies. I believe there is salvation only in Jesus Christ. I believe all of us are sinners in need of the Savior. I am tired of the church saying homosexuality is a sin but not understanding everything the Bible has to say about homosexuality. I also want the world to know what Christians believe when they confess the Bible is true. I want them to understand that the cultures definition of love is much different than the Bible’s definition. We all need to challenge ourselves on this issue, because there are real people involved here, not simply an ideology.

The overarching theme is that I believe homosexuals do not exist, and neither does the Bible. I believe homosexuality does exist, and those whom we call homosexual, gay, lesbian, or any other name do participate in homosexuality. In the first post I dealt with arguments some may have in response to saying homosexuals do not exist, but homosexuality does- including, how, you can’t live without seeing or hearing about this thing called the gay community. If you want to go back and review, feel free.

The previous posts introduced why I think this way, and why, if you disagree with the Bible on what defines humanity, sexuality, and identity, you will disagree with my final analysis, too. If anything I’ve said comes across as pure opinion, then I apologize. Although my analysis of the culture and politics is my opinion, my conclusions regarding the truth is from the Bible. Jesus said to God the Father, “You word is truth (John 17:3).” Therefore, let’s have a quick review and then deal with the topic of identity.

Since I’ve begun writing on homosexuality, some people became confused about what I’m trying to say. In a short summary, let me explain what I’ve laid out on the blog so far:

1) Christians need to think about homosexuality in a deeper way. Do we use the term, “homosexual” as a word to describe what a person desires/does, or is it a word that signifies an identity, that can’t be undone?

Is homosexuality a human condition or natural consequence?

2) Both Christians and Non-Christians separate homosexuals (aka gay and lesbian) from the rest of the world. Some Christians say that they are marked in a way that makes them less likely to receive the gospel. However, the Bible doesn’t say that someone who commits homosexuality is a different kind of sinner. Yet, as Christians in America we distinguish them, speaking about them as if we agree with everyone else that they are born that way, but still disagree with the lifestyle.

In other words, we’re all people.

3) Underneath the question of identity is, what does it mean to be human? Society and the Bible have differing views. If man determines what it means to be human, then sexuality is not a matter of what appears natural (relations leading to procreation…meaning heterosexuality), but of what feels natural to us.

The Bible says what is natural was created by a supernatural God. He determined the course for humanity, and humanity wanted something different. God ordained this to happen, to set the course for salvation in Jesus. By returning to our Creator, we can flourish and enjoy truth by worshiping Him, not our ideas of truth.

There are still three days left of posts to be uploaded. I encourage you to read them and not assume anything until the last page. Now that we’ve worked our way to the purpose of humanity, we must ask what is the identity of humanity apart from God.

Until next time,

Austin Thompson

One thought on “Homosexuals Do Not Exist: Recapping The First Two Posts.”

Leave a Reply

